Empowering Local Businesses
Home city guide history of adilabad

History of Adilabad

Adilabad is a municipal town in Adilabad district of newly formed Telangana state in India. It is the headquarters of Adilabad district. Adilabad was earlier called Edulapuram. Adilabad district owes its name to Ali Adil Shah, the Ruler of Bijapur which was its head quarters.

Koyas make up most of the tribal population in districts of Warangal and Khammam. Gonds of Adilabad are mostly agricultural labourers.Today, it boasts of a multicultural society here with Bengali, Gujarati, Marathi, Rajasthani and Malayali people living amicably.

The Telangana region comprises 10 districts - Hyderabad, Adilabad, Khammam, Karimnagar, Mahbubnagar, Medak, Nalgonda, Nizamabad, Rangareddy, and Warangal.

Telangana Region

Adilabad - Brief History

Various dynasties have ruled over Adilabad region. These dynasties include the Mauryas, Satvahanas Vakatakas, Chalukyas of Badami, Rashrakutas, Chalukyas of Kalyani and Yadvas of Devagiri. Other rulers who ruled were Kakatiyas, Bahamanis, Imad-Shahis of Berar, Nizam-Shahis of Ahmednagar, Mughals, Bhonsle Rajas of Nagpur and Asaf-Jahis. Gond Rajas of Sirpur and Chanda (Chandrapur) have also ruled (1240 to 1750 A.D.) in Adilabad district. Manikgarh fort was the base of Gond chiefs during those times.

The history of Adilabad district can be traced back to Gondvana and Berar regions which are now Vidarbha. Today, most parts of Berar and Gondavana have merged into states of Maharashtra and Madhya Pradesh while the lower portion merged into erstwhile state of Hyderabad which comprised parts of Karnataka, Marathawada and Telengana.

Adilabad Mandal

Originally, Adilabad was a sub-district by the name of Sirpur-Tandur and had Edlabad (Adilabad), Rajura and Sirpur as its constituent taluqs. However, in 1905, Adilabad became a full-fledged district with head quarters at Adilabad. Other taluqs were added to it which comprised of Nirmal and Narsapur taluqs of Nizamabad (Indur) while Chinnur and Luxettipet taluqs from Karimnagar (Elganda) District and Jangaon (changed as Asifabad in 1907), Kinwat (8 taluqs).

In later years, two new taluqs - Utnoor and Boath were formed. By the 20th century, Boath, Utnoor, Adilabad, Rajura and Kinwat were under the rule of the Yadavas of Devgiri. In the year 1913-14, the head quarters of Adilabad District was shifted to Asifabad for administrative reasons. This continued till 1940-41 when Adilabad remained the district head quarters.

Under the State Reorganization Act, 1956, Adilabad district lost Rajura and Kinwat and Islapur circle of Boath taluq to Bombay -bi-lingual state (now Maharashtra state) and gained the three revenue circles of Mudhol, Kubeer and Bhainsa from Mudhol Taluq (Nanded District). During 1980s, Khanapur sub taluq became proper Taluq while Wankadi Taluq was carved out of Asifabad Taluq. In 1985, the 11 taluqs with 48 revenue circles (Firkas) were reorganized and formed into 52 Revenue Mandals and Mandal Parishads. The Mandal Revenue Officers and Mandal Parishad Development Officers became the administrative heads. Later, in 1987 and 1989, Revenue divisions Utnoor and Mancherial were carved out of existing three revenue divisions.

Today, Adilabad District lies to the North of newly formed Telangana State. It is developing fast as far as infrastructure, agriculture, economy, health facilities and education is concerned.

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries